International Lion of Judah Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award

Since 2004, the Kipnis-Wilson Friedland Award honours extraordinary women who have set a high standard for philanthropy and volunteerism.


Winners are chosen by peers as "women of valor" with a lifetime of commitment to the Jewish world. Each is recognized at the biennial International Lion of Judah Conference (ILOJC).


(Learn more about this year's winners at



Dale Boidman, Federation CJA (Montreal)

Andrea Cohen, UJA Federation of Greater Toronto

Dorothy Nadolny, Jewish Federation of Ottawa

Debbie Ryder, Calgary Jewish Federation

Diane Switzer,  Jewish Federation of Greater Vancouver



Past Canadian Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award winners are:


Etty Bienstock (Montreal)
Karen James (Vancouver)
Felicia Posluns (Toronto)
Sunny Tavel (Ottawa)


Barbara Bank (Toronto)
Elaine Dubrovsky (Montreal)
Elissa Iny (Ottawa)
Marilyn Libin (Calgary)


Sandy Martin (Calgary)
Alice Raby (Montreal)
Bonnie Merovitz (Ottawa)
Fran Sonshine (Toronto)


Donna Riback (Calgary)
Evelyn Bloomfield Schachter (Montreal)
Ethyl Taylor (Ottawa)
Lesely Binstock-Offman (Toronto)


Rosalind Goodman (Montreal)
Donna Dolansky (Ottawa)
Tobie Bekhor (Toronto)


Marlene King (Montreal)
Debbie Kimmel (Toronto)
Sondi Green (Vancouver)