Press Release: CIJA Welcomes New Board Chair

Original post on here

The Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs (CIJA) confirmed yesterday the election of a new slate of Officers, including David Cape of Montreal, who succeeds David Koschitzky as National Chair. Mr. Cape, who is President of Group Marcelle Inc., has served in numerous leadership positions within the Jewish community, including terms as President of Federation-CJA and President of Congregation Shaar Hashomayim.

“We are very pleased to welcome David Cape as our new Chair,” commented CIJA CEO Shimon Koffler Fogel. “David brings with him a real understanding of our advocacy agenda, developed over many years of Jewish community service, along with a keen sense of how to build consensus and advance our program grounded in his professional experience at the helm of his family-owned enterprise. He will be a tremendous asset to CIJA and the community it serves in his new role.”

“As his term comes to an end, we also convey deep appreciation to Immediate Past Chair David Koschitzky. His remarkable dedication to CIJA has laid a strong foundation upon which we will continue to build. I am certain that David’s passion for serving the Jewish community will bring many new challenges his way, including his recent appointment as head of the world Board of Trustees of Keren Hayesod-United Israel Appeal. CIJA is grateful that it will continue to benefit from David’s experience and wisdom,” said Fogel.

CIJA would also like to thank Martin Chernin (Sydney); Steven Cummings (Montreal); Heather Fenyes (Saskatoon); Jonathan Freedman (Ottawa); Paul Goldman (Vancouver); Judy Kremer (Montreal); Stanley Plotnick (Montreal); and David Spiro (Toronto) for their service on the CIJA Board of Directors. Though they will no longer serve as Board members, their contribution to CIJA will continue to positively impact the lives of Canadian Jewry.

CIJA’s newly-elected Board of Directors is comprised of ambitious and devoted men and women of remarkable talent from across Canada. CIJA is privileged to welcome, and eager to begin working with, the following new members of the Board:  Major-General (Ret.) Ed Fitch (Victoria); Ronnen Harary (Toronto); Professor Rosalie Jukier (Montreal); Marilyn Kaufman (Fredericton); Rachel Levy (Toronto); Dan Mader (Ottawa); Jason Murray (Vancouver); Steven Shafir (Edmonton); and Sara Zagdanski (Toronto). They join returning Directors: Sheila Copps (Ottawa); Stockwell Day (Vancouver); Father Raymond de Souza (Kingston); David Engel (Toronto); David Kroft (Winnipeg); Eric Maldoff (Montreal); Berl Nadler (Toronto); Lorne Nystrom (Regina); Rabbi Reuben Poupko (Montreal); Cheryl Reicin (Toronto); Joel Reitman (Toronto); Moshe Ronen (Toronto); Nancy Rosenfeld (Montreal); Jeff Rosenthal (Toronto); Carol Ryder (Calgary); and Lisa Samson (Ottawa).



Add Comment